

BAWN Announces 2022 Legislative Champions, Endorsements

Sept 20, 2022 – (MIAMI) In the wake of continuing gun violence across the country, a grassroots group of family members and survivors from the Parkland and Pulse mass shootings, Ban Assault Weapons Now (BAWN), is announcing its 2022 Florida endorsements.

This follows the group's recent endorsement of Charlie Crist for Governor and a contribution of \$25,000 to his political campaign.

Gail Schwartz, Chair of BAWN, said the endorsements reflect the organization's support of those candidates and legislators who supported common sense gun safety reforms.

"The Parkland massacre that took the life of my nephew and 16 others could have been prevented if the legislature had enacted a ban on the sale of assault weapons after 49 people were gunned down in Orlando," said Schwartz. "Florida needs leadership that will prioritize gun violence and stop arming mass shooters with weapons of war."

During the 2022 Legislative Session, these state Democratic lawmakers demonstrated their commitment to banning assault weapons and high-capacity magazines by co-sponsoring <u>SB</u> 214 and <u>HB 199</u>:

2022 State Senate Legislative Champions include:

Gary Farmer, Loranne Ausley, Lori Berman, Lauren Book, Randolph Bracy, Janet Cruz, Audrey Gibson, Shevrin Jones, Tina Polsky, Bobby Powell, Linda Stewart, Annette Taddeo, and Vic Torres.

2022 State House Legislative Champions include:

Carlos Guillermo-Smith, Kristin Arrington, Robin Bartleman, Kamia Brown, Joe Casello, Dan Dailey, Tracie Davis, Ben Diamond, Fentrice Driskell, Bobby DuBose, Anna Eskamani, Joe Geller, Joy Goff-Marcil, Yvonne Hinson, Christine Hunschofsky, Dotie Joseph, Andrew Learned, Travaris McCurdy, Daisy Morales, Angela Nixon, Michele Rayner, Kelly Skidmore, Emily Slosberg-King, Allison Tant, Geraldine Thompson, Susan Valdés, and Marie Woodson. In addition, BAWN also announces its endorsement of the following new candidates:

Endorsed General Election State House Candidates:

Kristen Arrington, Rishi Bagga, Robin Bartleman, Joe Casello, Lindsay Cross, Dan Daley, Fentrice Driskell, Anna Eskamani, Benard Fensterwald, Carlos Guillermo-Smith, Rita Harris, Sarah Henry, Yvonne Hinson, Tiffany Hughes, Christine Hunschofsky, Andrew Learned, Jordan Leonard, Susan Lopez-Valdés, Ash Marwah, Jen McDonald, Angie Nixon, Andy Thomson, Curtis Tucker, Susan Valdes, and Marie Woodson.

Endorsed General Election State Senate Candidates:

Loranne Ausley, Lori Berman, Janet Cruz, Tracie Davis, Joy Goff-Marcil, Tina Polsky, Janelle Perez, Bobby Powell, Linda Stewart, and Vic Torres.

Schwartz praised the candidates who supported the organization's policies and lamented the lack of bipartisanship on the issue.

"Our loved ones were brutally murdered by an AR-15 and a Sig Sauer MCX. We know firsthand the carnage caused by these killing machines. That's why we have worked tirelessly to support legislators that will save lives by enacting common sense gun safety laws in our state," Schwartz said.

"We are grateful so many Democratic legislators and candidates have stepped up to help prevent gun violence," said Schwartz. "Sadly, not a single Republican legislator would make that same commitment. Assault weapons don't care if you are a Democrat or a Republican, and killers don't ask your political affiliation before they shoot," she said.

Schwartz said the organization plans to be involved in midterm legislative campaigns to help elect ardent champions of the assault weapons ban to the Florida House and Senate.

###

Ban Assault Weapons NOW (BAWN) is a grassroots gun safety reform group formed by survivors and loved ones of the Pulse and Parkland massacres. BAWN is dedicated to electing Florida candidates who share our commitment to banning assault weapons and saving lives from senseless gun violence.